Notice of Anticipated Closure from Friday 11th September 2015

Mountsorrel War Memorials Trust Limited together with Mountsorrel Parish Council, are planning to replace the current Memorial Hall with a new Memorial Centre. It has now been confirmed that this replacement work is expected to start this Autumn. It is anticipated that the current hall will close finally on the evening of Friday 11th September and its facilities will cease to be available from this date. No bookings, regular or casual, can be taken for any dates after Friday 11th September 2015.

The management would like to thank you all for using the hall and trust that this has been of benefit to all of our village community. We trust that hirers will be able to continue their activities in other venues whilst the hall is out of commission.

Please click below to download the full notice.

word pdf Notice of Anticipated Closure Letter

Mountsorrel Memorial Hall - A History

Photo of Memorial Plaque
Memorial Plaque

In between the First and Second World Wars there had been talk in the village of replacing the Mechanics Institute that had been housed in the building originally built in 1847 at the instigation of Countess Lanesborough as an Infants School. This building had, by 1906, become the Parish Rooms and remains today, although much extended, the home of our Parish Council.

The Second World War put the idea on hold, but by 1948 and driven by the desire for a tangible commemoration of those who died in that war, the Parish Council commissioned a study for the building of a hall for the use as a social amenity for the village. The delivery of the Report in late 1950 was the spur for a group of trustees to be appointed and fundraising to begin in earnest led by a Social Organising Committee consisting of Trustees and other interested villagers. Support from local firms and businesses helped considerably but the main effort was from the community itself.

Throughout the 1950s fundraising continued as did the search for a suitable site for the hall. Various options and offers were considered including the possibility of purchasing the Rock Cinema. Eventually however the search for a site narrowed to three clear contenders, one at the back of the Parish Rooms, one on the Green and one at the bottom of the Green. The latter was considered to be the best option and in 1960 serious negotiations to secure sufficient land for the Hall.

A newspaper cutting from August 1960 showing Leicester Rd
A newspaper cutting from August 1960 showing Leicester Rd

The buildings shown are The Old Shoe Shop, Tony Woods Barber Shop, a squared entranceway leading to cottages, cottage and the Prince of Wales (later the Stag and Pheasant) public house.

The land owner Mr Robert Dudley Parr, agreed a donation of land for the simple only condition that a plaque be erected in the hall to commemorate his relatives. Additionally he sold the remaining land and properties needed, comprising 91, 93, 95, 97, 99, 101, 103 and 105 Leicester Road for a nominal sum plus expenses. The plaque can be seen in the foyer of the hall, on the opposite wall to where the memorial plaque which bears the names of those villagers who gave their lives in the Second World War is mounted.

Photo of Plaque

Plans for the new Hall were now drawn by Mr Tickle and a local builder, F Sleath & Sons of Rothley, gave a quotation of £10,935 for construction. A 50% grant from the Ministry of Education and Science was obtained to supplement funds already raised within the village and work commenced on15th July 1964.

The first meeting held in the hall took place on 8 June 1965 and the official opening ceremony was on 26 June 1965.

Opening Ceremony Poster
Opening Ceremony Poster
Photo showing buglers
Buglers of the Leicestershire & Derbyshire Yeomanry at the opening ceremony

The following year saw new Trustee and management arrangements for the Hall being agreed and registered with the Charity Commissioners. Those initial arrangements, slightly amended through experience and time continue today with a trustee body, Mountsorrel War Memorials Trust Ltd, registered with the Charity Commissioners and day to day management devolved to a Memorial Hall Management Committee with membership drawn from various village groups.

The popularity of the Hall as a venue was immediately apparent and within two years of opening an extension was built. The Hall continues to be heavily used for the benefit of villagers and others and over the years has been the venue for amateur dramatics, dances, parties, indoor sports events, regular Keep Fit, dancing classes, playgroups and senior citizens meetings. It is the venue for the Annual Parish Meeting of the Parish Council, was the venue for the public enquiry into the then proposed By-Pass and hosts the Annual Winter Charity Fair and the village Carol Concert.

Charity Fair Poster from 1992
The Winter Charity Fair - A regular event at the Hall

The idea for, building and continued management of the Hall is due to the commitment and freely given time and generosity of many villagers from the immediate post Second World War period through till today. It is impractical to name all those involved but plaques within the hall commemorate the work and generosity of two individuals, representing the many.

Photo of Plaque - Mr G H Daniels Photo of Plaque - Miss W A Simmons


  • Memorial Hall 30th Anniversary Leaflet 1995
  • "Mountsorrel Through the Ages" - The Social Studies Group of the Mountsorrel Townswomen's Guild. 2nd Edition - Revised by L A Tyman
  • Private Collection of Mr N Wakeling
A Tapestry donated to the Hall
Medieval Mountsorrel

A Tapestry donated to the Hall